About Us

Coalition to Save ELA

The Coalition to Save ELA is a nonpartisan group of scientists and citizens concerned about the future of Canada’s Experimental Lakes Area.

The Coalition’s mission is to promote awareness and support for the Experimental Lakes Area, and to advocate in the interest of all Canadians for the continuation of this essential research program.

The Coalition’s vision for ELA is as a world-class public research program generating sound, scientific evidence for the development of effective public policy, management strategies, and stewardship activates to ensure the health of Canada’s freshwaters and fisheries.

National Committee (*founding directors)

Britt Hall, Associate Professor, University of Regina
*Jason Venkiteswaran, PhD, Research Associate, University of Waterloo
*Heidi Swanson, PhD, Assistant Professor, University of Waterloo
David Schindler, OC, AOE, DPhil, FRSC, FRS, Killam Memorial Professor of Ecology, University of Alberta
John Smol, PhD, FRSC, Canada Research Chair in Environmental Change, Queen’s University
John Rudd, PhD, ELA Head Scientist, Fisheries & Oceans Canada (retired)
Peter G. Kirby, LLB, Barrister & Solicitor
Michael Turner, PhD, Aquatic Ecologist, and past ELA Researcher

Regional Representatives

British Columbia:
Carol Kelly, PhD, Professor of Microbiology, University of Manitoba (retired)
William Donahue, PhD, LLB, Freshwater Science and Policy Consultant
Britt Hall, PhD, Associate Professor, University of Regina
John Shearer, ELA Operations Manager, Fisheries & Oceans Canada (retired)
Ontario & The North:
Jules Blais, PhD, Professor, University of Ottawa, and President of The Society of Canadian Limnologists
Yves Prairie, PhD, Chaire UNESCO en Changements Environnementaux à l’Échelle du Globe, Université du Québec à Montréal
Karen Kidd, PhD, Canada Research Chair in Chemical Contamination of Food Webs, University of New Brunswick

Support Members:

Elizabeth Joyce, Treasurer, MSc, PhD, Past ELA graduate student
Ginger Gill, Administrative Support, MSc, Past ELA graduate student
Cameron Hoggarth, Graduate student representation, MSc candidate, University of Regina
Jody Rintoul, Graduate student representation, MSc candidate, University of Regina
*Diane Orihel, Director of the Coalition to Save ELA, BSc, MNRM, PhD Candidate, University of Alberta